FRANÇAIS   |   ENGLISH
Extract of "Brasseries of Paris"
by Fançois Thomazeau and Sylvain Ageorges

You would find yourself – without hurting your conteporaries, of course – hoping that the curse of the Pont-Rouge ("the Red Bridge") strikes again to protect this haven of good taste from the ocean of tourists submerging the heart of old Paris. The Pont-Rouge indeed collapsed so many times – 6! – that no one tried to rebuild it thereafter; as for La Brasserie de l'Isle Saint-Louis, it is still as fit as a fiddle.
Fan of simplicity, the place was called La Taverne du Pont-Rouge ("The Tavern of the Red Bridge"), well over a century ago, spreading in front of the River Seine a terrace which is still one of the most cozy of the capital. The Tavern went for some time by the sweet name of L'Oasis ("The Oasis"); the business belonged to a Mr Lauer, a staunch Alsatian who served cabbage, sausage and beer to a bohemian clientele, probably chasing the ghost of Baudelaire.
One evening in 1953, Paul Guépratte, personal chef of the Duchess of Windsor, whose pied-à-terre in Paris was nearby, heard that Lauer threw in the towel. The deal was concluded with a handshake over the wooden bar, which still supports a sumptuous coffee machine from another age. Two generations later, another Paul Guépratte is the cashier, while his mother and his grandmother swallow a blanquette with a cup of Champagne in the nearly seaside glow of a winter lunch.
A family business... and a regular clientele joined together. Liz Taylor and Natalie Wood dined at the Brasserie with Richard Burton and Peter O'Toole. Bardot felt so good here that she even gave the boss a small dog named Baby. And she never found anything wrong with good meat savoured on the antique wooden tables, comfortably settled on timeless red moleskin.
The Seine reflects a soft light that bathes the two rooms, ochre mosaic floor and beige ceiling. White and warm at the end of the morning, a pearly river at twilight, at the cocktail hour.
Time passes, nothing changes. The Brasserie was also called Le Café des Sports ("The Sports Bar"). A Gavin Hastings picture reminds that the Brasserie is a rugby Mecca and when the Scottish thistle plays against the Gallic rooster, hordes of kilts land on the Île Saint-Louis and the old walls resound with their songs. Year after year, sauerkraut after cassoulet, riesling after chablis, match after match, the family grows.

François Thomazeau

Extract of "Brasseries of Paris" by Fançois Thomazeau
and Sylvain Ageorges - (2006) Parigramme Publishing

1

FRANÇAIS   |   ENGLISH
Extrait de « Brasseries de Paris »
de Fançois Thomazeau et Sylvain Ageorges

On se surprendrait presque – sans vouloir de mal à nos contemporains, bien sûr – à espérer que la malédiction du Pont-Rouge frappe de nouveau pour préserver cette oasis de bon goût dans l’océan touristique submergeant le cœur du vieux Paris. Le Pont-Rouge s’est en effet écroulé six fois, au point qu’on n’a pas pris la peine de le reconstruire ; la Brasserie de l’Isle Saint-Louis, quant à elle, se porte comme un charme.
Adepte de la simplicité, le lieu s’est appelé la taverne du Pont-Rouge, voilà bien plus d’un siècle, lorsqu’il déploya face à la Seine une terrasse qui est encore l’une des plus douillettes de la capitale. L’établissement répondit un moment au doux nom de l’Oasis ; l’affaire appartenait alors à un certain Lauer, Alsacien bon teint qui servait chou, saucisse et bière à une clientèle bohème chassant sans doute le fantôme de Baudelaire.
Un soir de 1953, Paul Guépratte, préposé aux cuisines de la duchesse de Windsor, qui avait à deux pas son pied-à-terre parisien, apprit que Lauer jetait l’éponge. L’affaire fut conclue d’une poignée de main sur le bar en bois qui abrite encore une somptueuse machine à café d’un autre âge. Deux générations plus tard, un autre Paul Guépratte officie à la caisse, pendant que sa maman et sa grand-mère avalent une blanquette avec une coupette de champagne dans la lueur presque maritime d’un déjeuner hivernal.
Une affaire de famille… à laquelle s’est soudée une clientèle d’habitués. Liz Taylor et Natalie Wood ont dîné à la Brasserie avec Richard Burton et Peter O’Toole. Bardot se sentait si bien ici qu’elle offrit même à la patronne un petit chien nommé Baby. Et elle ne trouva jamais rien à redire à la bonne viande que l’on savoure sur les éternelles tables en bois bien calé dans l’indémodable moleskine rouge.
La Seine réfléchit une douce lumière qui baigne les deux salles, sol en mosaïque ocre et plafond café crème. Blanche et chaleureuse en fin de matinée, nacrée de clair-obscur le soir, à l’heure de l’apéro.
Le temps passe, rien ne change. La Brasserie s’est aussi appelée Café des Sports. Une photo de Gavin Hastings rappelle que c’est un haut lieu du rugby et lorsque le XV du Chardon vient affronter le Coq Gaulois, des nuées de kilts débarquent sur l’île et font résonner les vieux murs de leurs chants. Année après année, choucroute après cassoulet, riesling après chablis, match après match, la famille s’agrandit.

François Thomazeau

Extrait de « Brasseries de Paris » de Fançois Thomazeau
et Sylvain Ageorges - Ed. Parigramme (2006)

1